Belmore South Public School

Creating the Future

Telephone02 9759 4388

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

Classes at Belmore South Public School are organised into stage-based classes to facilitate personalised learning opportunities for all students. Students are provided with a variety of opportunities across the school to develop and practice skills in leadership, citizenship and student voice, through initiatives such as:

  • Literacy programs at our school include reading recovery, best start, language, learning, literacy (L3), focus on reading, home reading Kindergarten to Year 2, library borrowing Kindergarten to Year 6, and the Premier's Reading Challenge.
  • Numeracy programs at our school include targeting early numeracy Kindergarten to Year 2 (TEN), Taking Off With Numeracy (TOWN), count me in too, small words count and Newman's analysis.
  • Performing arts opportunities occur through the choir, band ensemble, dance group, debating, public speaking, chess competitions and school music program.
  • Sporting programs include the fundamental movement skills, game sense, and the Premier's Sporting Challenge.

Early action for success

Early action for success is the department's strategy for implementing the NSW government's State Literacy and Numeracy Plan. It aims to improve students' literacy and numeracy skills through a targeted approach in the early years of schooling.

At Belmore South Public School, we implement highly effective teaching strategies through a 3-tiered support and intervention process:

  • Tier 1 – whole class quality teaching based on ongoing assessment and monitoring processes
  • Tier 2 – small group explicit intervention
  • Tier 3 – targeted personalised learning and support programs

Early action for success allows for Belmore South Public School to employ a specialist intervention teacher and an instructional leader in addition to our normal staffing allocation.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.